Zee Edgell in St. Louis

Cover of "Beka Lamb (Caribbean Writers Se...
Cover of Beka Lamb (Caribbean Writers Series)

She won’t say it, so I will: My mother is a big deal. She is Zee Edgell, the first Belizean to put her country on the map in literature. Her first novel Beka Lamb, published in 1982, has become part of the Caribbean cultural canon and her subsequent work has built on this seminal work. Today, her books are read and taught in Belize, the West Indies, the United States and other countries and regions. She also has published four short stories.

Zee Edgell is a fairly modest person, not one to toot her own horn. Anyone who has met her knows this! So, I tend to do the tooting on her behalf. With that in mind, I decided to create a packet of information to share with bookstores, colleges and schools, libraries, book clubs and other folks here in St. Louis. Now that my parents live here, I thought book lovers might like to know about a newly arrived novelist in their midst.

So, I invite you to download, peruse and share!

About Zee Edgell

Edgell Flyer

Zee’s Books

3 thoughts on “Zee Edgell in St. Louis

Add yours

  1. Hi Holly,
    I met your mom at the Patch forum a few weeks ago. Since I had looked at your website, and hers through yours, I knew a little about her, so I mentioned her books when we spoke. She did admit to being an author, but you’re right, she’s definitely modest. I liked her a lot. She seemed very warm and was very friendly to everyone who tried to talk with her. Thanks for sharing this information. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

