HollyWorld

Reading, writing, musing.

What’s next? Watch this space

Posted by Holly Edgell on February 19, 2012

For the first time in a very long time, I don’t work for anyone. In terms of career, I’ve always gone from job to job–often with little or no break in between gigs.

This time I have bowed out of a job to bow into my own new thing: developing myself as an independent journalist, media consultant and teacher/trainer to pay my way in this world. I will also be devoting more time to creative writing, which may or may not be renumerative!

Early steps

I’m in the process of setting up shop for this new phase of my career. New computer: check. New phone number: check. Letting colleagues in my field know: underway. New business cards: ordering soon. I have several meetings set up for my first week as solo operator and a few after that. Time to see what I am made of.

How does it feel? Liberating, scary, exhilerating, daunting. Yes, all of the above.

Stepping stones

I am not ruling out a return to working for someone else, but this is something I’ve been wanting to try. In fact, it was my most recent job as a regional editor for Patch.com that prepared me to give this a go.

  1. I’ve been working remotely for 18 months; it doesn’t feel odd or strange to work at home or on the go instead of being tied to a newsroom or office
  2. Working virtually has taught me to manage my time efficiently (always room for improvement, of course)
  3. I’ve learned to use all kinds of new tools to enhance my professional life: the cloud, apps for organization, social networks, and much more.
  4. My work in St. Louis over the past year and a half has opened many doors and put me into contact with some amazing people who could be potential clients and collaborators.
  5. In terms of practical skills and an understanding of the digital space around journalism and social media, my cup runneth over.

Deep breath: here goes! 

14 Responses to “What’s next? Watch this space”

  1. Romy Saunders said

    Wishing you only the best in your new endeavor, Holly. It may fuel all the emotions you describe, but to steer your own ship will be rewarding I’m sure.

  2. Billy Frank Thornton said

    Holly: Wishing you well in your future endeavors. Thank you for opening the world around me in University City. Been enjoying your beautiful homeland since November…Belize has been such a blessing for me. The election activities have been hot and heavy…will be thankful after the elections on March 7th, I believe. Prince Harry will be visiting Belize to help celebrate Queen Elizabeths Diamond Jubilee. Most his activies will be in Cayo…so I intend to visit San Ignacio to be close to the activities. Tuesday will be Fat Tuesday…us children will be in the streets painting the world blue. It takes more than a week for San Pedro to wash away paint from “everything”. Thankfully the paint is water based. Much sucess will follow you!!!! Billy Frank Thornton

    • Thank you, sir! Sounds like you are immersed in life in Belize, which is great. My brother and his family (also St. Louis residents) are in Placencia until Feb. 28… If you are down that way, stop by and say hi. It’s the bright yellow house next to The Moorings (off of the Placencia road).

  3. Rosario Kowalski said

    Thrilled for you! Can’t believe that I was thinking this very morning that you would be an insightful expert-commentator on the current impact of social media on the field of journalism. Besides being an amazing person, you are an incredibly talented writer! Please add me to your list of followers for any of your other posts or blogs!

  4. Catherine Krummey said

    Good luck! I’m sure they’ll miss you at Patch.

  5. Paul Berriman said

    Holly wishing you all the best and have fun doing it.

    Paul B

  6. Jeanne Courtenay said

    Only the very best is wished for you. You are such a confident woman that the positive vibes will follow you as you take the necessary steps to make your new endeavor work for you. Love always.

  7. […] What’s next? Watch this space […]

  8. […] What’s next? Watch this space […]

  9. […] When I worked for Patch, I remember grumbles from freelancers about the $50 to $75 an article we usually offered. The Journatic “reporter” profiled by This American Life reveals that a city council story he did for TribLocal yielded between $12 and $14 dollars. Working for  about three hours on the piece, that comes to…. Ouch. It’s actually painful to do the math. The founding editor in chief of Patch, Brian Farnham, wrote a piece about Journatic for the Columbia Journalism Review in May. It’s a good, balanced read from the perspective of a person who knows of what he speaks. […]

  10. […] I first got to know Vickie when she was a reporter and morning news anchor at WDIV-TV in Detroit. Her career journey took her to Atlanta and then brought her to St. Louis. I know she’s been hankering to get back to her hometown of Little Rock, so their gain is our loss! Full disclosure: I contribute to TheVillageCelebration.com; in fact Vickie was one of the first people to give me work when I took my own plunge in February! […]

  11. […] working solo since February, I am actually looking forward to being in a newsroom again. The opportunity to collaborate with […]

Leave a Reply

 
