Warning, this blog is personal: Last night I wept at the Tears for Fears concert in Kansas City

You’ve seen this: Concert footage in which fans are crying. I never understood it. Sure, the music is great and the band members are (sometimes) good looking, but weeping at a concert?

Last night I wept at the Tears for Fears concert in Kansas City. On and off, from the first strains of “Everybody Wants To Rule The World,” through the encore “Woman in Chains” and “Shout.”

Tears for Fears played the Uptown Theater in Kansas City, Missouri on June 15, 2015.
Tears for Fears played the Uptown Theater in Kansas City, Missouri on June 15, 2015.

There was something in those familiar, loved songs–rendered even better and new again live–that hit me in the heart. Hearing Roland Orzabal (best voice in pop music) got right in amongst me. Also, the band seemed to see the fans as a mass audience of old friends, with warm smiles and genuine enjoyment of the crowd.

The years–with all the good and bad they have held–rolled over me again and again.

And there’s another, very important thing. For a variety of reasons, I have never settled down in a geographic place. A sense of only partially belonging here or there is something I am now used to, and most of the time I don’t even think about it.

MORE: Holly’s Tears for Fears Spotify playlist (You haven’t lived until you’ve heard Orzabal cover “Creep” by Radiohead)

Last night, I think I was moved, in part, because I remembered that I belong to a generation and I (finally) understood something about what that means. In a hall full of singing, dancing and cheering strangers (average age around 42, I’d guess), I felt connected. Music carries us through time. So, I suppose I will always have a “place.”

Artwork on the shirt I bought at the concert on June 15, 2015.
Artwork on the shirt I bought at the concert on June 15, 2015.
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

