Lately, I’ve been watching a lot of documentaries.

Is it another sign of maturity, or just a rather twisted and voyeuristic streak? Lately, it’s hard for me to sit through a fictional television program; it has to be about depravity, murder, secrets and/or lies to really hold me (True Detective, Season One). Similarly, I used to love to read fiction; now, magazines like Harper’s and the New Yorker hold my attention, as can biographies–especially revolving around themes of race.

Exception Alert: “The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt,” a comedy, is the bomb. Not suprisingly, it comes from the twisted and awesome mind of Tina Fey.

sdm

Thanks to the podcast “Death, Sex & Money,” I have a great resource for discovering documentaries I might not know about otherwise. There is a link to a Google spreadsheet on the show’s website, and it’s being populated by fans of the the podcast.

Go here to check it out: Summer Documentary List

I was moved to add three docs of my own choosing:

  • “The Galapagos Affair: Satan Came to Eden”
  • “Open Secret”
  • “Little White Lie”

The list reminded me I’d not yet seen “Grey Gardens,” which omission I rectified this weekend. Other docs I’ve watched this summer (pre-list) include “There’s Something Wrong With Aunt Diane,” and “The 9/11 Faker.” Also, “The Vivian Maier Mystery,” “Savage Memory,” and “Love & Terror On The Howling Plains of Nowhere.”

Get the picture? Sensing a theme?

Documentaries allow me to feel things I don’t normally tap into on a regular basis. They remind me that life is large, that time is short, and that there are really more important things than x, y or z.

Human beings are so improbable. How do we ever get anything done? How do we find and then lose ourselves and each other?

More documentary recommendations always welcome! (Remember my favorite themes, please).

2 thoughts on “Lately, I’ve been watching a lot of documentaries.

Add yours

  1. Holly, A good documentary is “Pay to Play: Democracy’s High Stakes.” which is about money in politics – U.S., of course. It’s only available on dvd, which can be purchased inexpensively and shown publicly. There is also a website that shows where it is being shown. By the way, please tell your mom “hello” from Tom (Hines) and me. And keep your blog posts coming :).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

